Get involved with the Courier

Anyone who is a student at Newcastle University can write for the Courier. Whether you want to review your favourite film, comment on worldwide issues, update students about what’s happening on campus or hold your university to account with some investigative journalism, there’s space in the Courier for everyone’s voice to be heard.

We hold weekly writers’ meetings every Wednesday from 1.30-2.30pm via our Discord server. The link for these can be found on our Facebook page. These are drop-in sessions and you can come at any point over the hour. Each of our sections will post a list of articles for the week, and you can either enter a video or audio call or write in the chat if any take your fancy. Our sub-editors are always enthusiastic about writers pitching their own article ideas, so just let them know what you want to write about and they can support you.

Unable to attend the writers’ meetings? No worries! All our leftover articles get posted in our Facebook groups, so make sure you join them all.

Click on the links under each section logo to go to the Facebook writers' groups. Here you can take articles and communicate with editors.

Current Affairs

Current Affairs Editors: Joe Molander (j.molander@newcastle.ac.uk)

Life & Style

Life & Style Editor: Ellie James (e.james6@newcastle.ac.uk)

Culture

Culture Editors: Alex Darbyshire (a.darbyshire@newcastle.ac.uk) & Amy Brown (a.brown16@newcastle.ac.uk)

Sport

Head of Sport: Tom Moorcroft (t.b.moorcroft@newcastle.ac.uk)

For other queries, please see below for contact details for our senior editor team.

Editor-in-Chief: Ella Williams (editor.union@newcastle.ac.uk)

Deputy Editor: Julia McGee-Rusell (courier.deputy@newcastle.ac.uk)

Current Affairs Editor: Joe Molander (j.molander@newcastle.ac.uk)

Life & Style Editor: Ellie James (e.james6@newcastle.ac.uk)

Culture Editors: Alex Darbyshire (a.darbyshire@newcastle.ac.uk) & Amy Brown (a.brown16@newcastle.ac.uk)

Head of Digital & Design: George Boatfield (g.boatfield@newcastle.ac.uk)

Head of Sport: Tom Moorcroft (t.b.moorcroft@newcastle.ac.uk)

How to submit articles on WordPress

For writers submitting articles for the first time, the link below leads to the instructions for submitting articles to WordPress, and we also have a YouTube video with these details.

(Visited 213 times, 1 visits today)
magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap