Students raise a glass for teachers at TEA’s

Written by Latest, National, News

Last Thursday Newcastle University Students’ Union (NUSU) hosted its annual Teaching Excellence Awards. NUSU Education Officer, Christopher Duddy, organised and hosted the event which was held at Venue at the Students’ Union.

The event celebrated the exceptional work of Newcastle University staff who have exceeded expectations in terms of enhancing the academic student experience.

Commenting on the event, Christopher Duddy said:

“Not only did we receive more nominations than ever before, but the detail and quality of each nomination was astounding. It made the shortlisting process both a difficult and daunting task, but being able to see the delight on the winners faces last night made the hard work more than worth it!

“We’ve had fantastic support from students and staff from all of our University’s campuses, and we are delighted that the TEAs have been able to recognise fantastic practice across both regional and national boundaries. It is our students who have nominated and shortlisted the excellent entries that we’ve received and I really want to thank them for their support.”

The Newcastle University Students’ Union Teaching Excellence Awards Winners 2017 are: Taught Supervisor of the Year – Dr Adél Pásztor (School of Geography, Politics and Sociology); Research Supervisor of the Year – Dr Luca Panzone (School of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development); Outstanding Contribution to Teaching (Humanities and Social Sciences) – Professor Rachel Woodward (School of Geography, Politics and Sociology); Outstanding Contribution to Teaching (Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering) – Dr Alison Graham (School of Biology);  Outstanding Contribution to Teaching (Faculty of Medical Sciences) – Dr Laura Delgaty (School of Medical Education); Outstanding Contribution to Teaching (Global Campuses) – Dr Kenneth McKeegan (NUMed); Professional Services Staff Member of the Year – Mr Michael Percival (School of Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials); Postgraduate Student Who Teaches of the Year – Mr Benjamin Coulson (School of Geography, Politics and Sociology); Outstanding Contribution to Pastoral Support – Dr David Walker (School of Geography, Politics and Sociology); Outstanding Contribution to Feedback – Mr Simon Hacker (School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape); Outstanding Contribution to Innovation – Dr Eleanor Holmes (School of Medical Education).

Last modified: 8th May 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap